Home > Reports > 21.03/XNUMX Today is International Day Against Racism

21.03/XNUMX Today is International Day Against Racism

Berlin, March 21.03.2023, XNUMX. Racism affects us ALL. Today it is necessary to point out that we are ALL responsible for breaking down racist and sexist structures in the authorities, in the labor market and in society.

"We keep cementing gender stereotypes by forcing highly qualified migrant women into the low-wage sector or into care professions," says Dr. Delal Atmaca, managing director of DaMigra eV, the representation of interests of migrant women's self-organizations and calls for the breaking up of sexist and racist structures in our German society.

Article one of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights states: "All human beings are born free and equal in dignity and rights". However, the sad reality of everyday life looks different. Women with migration and refugee experience often report how they are exposed to racist and sexist discrimination at the same time. Not only when looking for a classic apartment, in the hospital, on the bus or at school. Also and especially in the labor market, racism, which is intertwined with sexism, is a very big problem. This problem affects not only the person concerned, but society as a whole.

We know from the many DaMigras projects, which aim to empower women with migration and refugee experience, that they are highly motivated to find an adequate job. Unfortunately, they encounter persisting structural and institutional racism in employment services. Qualified job references obtained abroad are often not recognized in Germany and if so, it took a disproportionately long time. During this time, the position has been filled elsewhere. Women who have worked successfully as programmers or engineers in their homeland for many years arrive here in Germany and are often retrained by the responsible employment agencies in stereotypical care professions or other jobs in the low-wage sector.

It is precisely in such professions that the shortage of skilled workers is greatest. According to the German Economic Institute, there is a shortage of around 23.000 skilled workers in childcare and child-rearing alone[1]. But even then, they often cannot find a job because they experience discrimination in the applications. Sometimes they are singled out for their name alone. There are already algorithms that are set in this way for applications from companies.

“When self-confessed racists classify, devalue, humiliate or even attack people as non-Germans, that is relatively clear for many. But racism is much more subtle these days and is firmly embedded in the structures and institutions of society. It is frightening that on the one hand 90% of the population is aware of this fact, but at the same time many become defensive when those affected address it", Dr. Delal Atmaca, Managing Director of DaMigra eV

We should finally start breaking down racist and sexist structures in the authorities, on the job market and in society, because racism affects us all - whether it affects us directly or indirectly.

DaMigra eV represents the interests of women migrant organizations and their concerns and advocates equal opportunities, equal participation and the equality of women with a history of migration and refugee experience in Germany. DaMigra follows the approach of anti-racist feminism.


[1] As of March 2023, study by the German Economic Institute

Reports

Brave together

WOMEN RAIS.ED

#TOGETHER!

The migrant women's march is coming up!

Under the motto “Slide over – We have a say!” This year in the Migrant March, we would like to focus on political participation from a feminist-migrant perspective... 

read more

Umbrella organization

Four years of Hanau: We don’t forget!

Berlin, February 19.02.2024, XNUMX. Exactly four years ago, Gökhan Gültekin, Sedat Gürbüz, Said Nesar Hashemi, Mercedes Kierpacz, Hamza Kurtović, Vili Viorel Păun, Fatih Saraçoğlu, Ferhat Unvar... 

read more

Dates

Brave together

Erfurt, 27. February 2024

Language café in Erfurt

Dear women, dear active and future volunteers, as part of the Together MUTig project, DaMigra eV at the Erfurt site invites ...

read more

Brave together

Leipzig, 28. February 2024

Workshop series “Digitally informed”

Dear women, dear volunteers, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the “Together MUTig” project...

read more

Home > Meldungen > 21.03. Zum heutigen Internationalen Tag gegen Rassismus

21.03. Zum heutigen Internationalen Tag gegen Rassismus

Berlin, 21.03.2023. Rassismus geht uns ALLE an. Zum heutigen Tag ist es notwendig darauf hinzuweisen, dass wir ALLE dafür verantwortlich sind rassistische und sexistische Strukturen in den Behörden, auf dem Arbeitsmarkt und in der Gesellschaft aufzubrechen.

„Wir zementieren Geschlechterstereotypen immer wieder aufs Neue, indem wir hochqualifizierte Migrantinnen in den Niedriglohnsektor oder in Care-Berufen abdrängen“, so Dr.  Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra e.V., der Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnenselbstorganisationen und fordert das Aufbrechen von sexistischen und rassistischen Strukturen in unserer deutschen Gesellschaft.

Im Artikel eins der Allgemeinen Erklärung der Menschenrechte heißt es: „Alle Menschen sind frei und gleich an Würde und Rechten geboren“. Die traurige Realität im Alltag sieht jedoch anders aus. Frauen mit Migrations- und Fluchterfahrung berichten oft wie sie rassistischer und sexistischer Diskriminierung gleichzeitig ausgesetzt sind. Nicht nur bei der klassischen Wohnungssuche, im Krankenhaus, im Bus oder in der Schule. Auch und gerade am Arbeitsmarkt ist Rassismus verstrickt mit Sexismus ein sehr großes Problem. Dieses Problem betrifft nicht nur die Betroffene selbst, sondern die gesamte Gesellschaft.

Aus den vielen Projekten DaMigras, die das Ziel haben Frauen mit Migrations- und Fluchterfahrung zu empowern, wissen wir, dass sie hochmotiviert sind einen adäquaten Arbeitsplatz zu finden. Leider treffen sie auf den weiter vorhandenen strukturellen und institutionellen Rassismus in der Arbeitsvermittlung auf. Qualifizierte Arbeitszeugnisse, die im Ausland erworben wurden, werden in Deutschland oftmals nicht anerkannt und wenn ja, dann hat das unverhältnismäßig lange gedauert.  In dieser Zeit ist die Stelle anderweitig besetzt worden. Frauen, die langjährig als Programmiererinnen oder als Ingenieurinnen in ihrer Heimat mit Erfolg gearbeitet haben, kommen hier in Deutschland an und werden oft bei den zuständigen Arbeitsvermittler*innen in stereotypen Care-Berufen oder anderen Tätigkeiten im Niedriglohnsektor umgeschult.

Gerade in solchen Berufen ist der Fachkräftemangel am höchsten. Laut Institut der deutschen Wirtschaft fehlen allein rund 23.000 Fachkräfte in der Kinderbetreuung und Kindererziehung[1]. Aber selbst dann finden sie oft keinen Arbeitsplatz, weil sie bei den Bewerbungen Diskriminierung erfahren. Manchmal werden sie allein wegen ihres Namens aussortiert. Es gibt bereits Algorithmen, die bei Bewerbungen von Unternehmen so eingestellt werden.

„Wenn bekennende Rassisten Menschen als Nicht-Deutsche einstufen, abwerten, erniedrigen oder sogar angreifen ist das für viele relativ eindeutig. Aber Rassismus ist heutzutage viel subtiler und in Strukturen und Institutionen der Gesellschaft fest verankert.  Erschreckend ist, dass einerseits 90% der Bevölkerung dieser Tatsache bewusst ist, gleichzeitig aber viele in eine Abwehrhaltung gehen, wenn Betroffene es ansprechen“, Dr. Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra e.V.

Wir sollten endlich damit anfangen, rassistische und sexistische Strukturen in den Behörden, auf dem Arbeitsmarkt und in der Gesellschaft aufzubrechen, denn Rassismus geht uns alle an – egal, ob es uns direkt oder indirekt betrifft.

DaMigra e.V. ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnenselbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen und setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen mit Migrationsgeschichte und Fluchterfahrung in Deutschland ein. DaMigra verfolgt den Ansatz des Antirassistischen Feminismus.


[1] Stand März 2023, Studie des Instituts der deutschen Wirtschaft

Meldungen

Gemeinsam MUTig

WOMEN RAIS.ED

#TOGETHER!

Der MigrantinnenMärz steht an!

Unter dem Motto „Rutscht rüber – Wir bestimmen mit!“ möchten wir in diesem Jahr im MigrantinnenMärz die Politische Teilhabe aus feministisch-migrantischer Perspektive in den Vordergrund … 

weiterlesen

Termine

Gemeinsam MUTig

Leipzig, 28. Februar 2024

Workshopreihe "Digital informiert"

Liebe Frauen, Liebe Ehrenamtlerinnen, Liebe Interessierte, DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des „Gemeinsam MUTig“ Projekts herzlich zu der ...

weiterlesen

Gemeinsam MUTig

Leipzig, 04. März 2024

Sprachcafé in Leipzig

Liebe Frauen, Liebe Ehrenamtlerinnen, Liebe Interessierte, DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des „Gemeinsam MUTig“ Projekts herzlich zum Sprachcafé ...

weiterlesen