Home > Reports > 31 years of Mölln – never forget! Consistent processing!

31 years of Mölln – never forget! Consistent processing!

We demand justice for the relatives and survivors of racist violence and preventive work from politicians and society.

On November 23, 1992, right-wing extremists threw Molotov cocktails at two houses in Mölln, Schleswig-Holstein. The reason for this was racist hatred – Two families of Turkish origin lived in the house. Three people, two girls and a woman, were murdered and another nine people were injured. We remember Yeliz Arslan (10 years old), Ayse Yilmaz (14 years old) and Bahide Arslan (52 years old).

After the attack in Mölln, the families of those murdered were left in the lurch and had to fight alone for years for legal compensation. The city of Mölln did not forward letters addressed to the family from people all over the world (not just from Germany) with offers of help, expressions of condolences and solidarity, and even donations.

To this day, the families complain that they are not seen as authorized contacts when it comes to dealing with the attack. Failures in the investigation of the attack, withholding of expressions of solidarity from the majority society by the city of Mölln and To this day, 31 years later, there has been a lack of consistent processing of what happened. A very bad conclusion!

The attack in Mölln was only part of a series of racist violence throughout the country: Mölln, Solingen, Lübeck, Rostock, Hamburg, Dortmund, Kassel, Nuremberg, Heilbronn, Munich, Halle and Hanau. Today, 31 years later, we remember the Mölln assassination attempt in a Germany in which right-wing parties and positions are gaining momentum and many migrants and BiPoCs are afraid for their safety and future. In a Germany in which anti-Semitism, anti-Muslim racism and discrimination remain a social reality.

"We therefore demand both justice for the relatives and survivors of racist violence as well as preventive work from politics and society: political education critical of racism, independent contact points and legal advice for victims of right-wing violence, as well as more projects to raise awareness of the dominant society in the fight against racism. Only the recognition and confrontation of right-wing continuities and racist realities in Germany as a whole can bring about lasting changes,” says Dr. Soraya Moket, deputy managing director of DaMigra eV and project manager of the anti-racism project women rais.ed.

The annual balance sheet of the victim advice centers of the Association for Advice Centers for Those Affected by Right-Wing, Racist and Anti-Semitic Violence (VBRG) shows that this violence is increasing. In 2022, ten out of 16 federal states were in total 2.093 Right-wing, racist or anti-Semitic attacks were registered. Now in October 2023, VBRG and RIAS (Recherche- & Informationsstellen Antisemitismus eV) are warning of an increasing escalation. According to VBRG, in Germany three to four daily committed violent acts motivated by right-wing, racist or anti-Semitic concerns.

Remembering is important, but not nearly enough. Structural changes, consistent and continuous anti-racist work, political education critical of racism and a profound, complex analysis of racist continuity(s) in Germany are - more than ever - urgently needed!

DaMigra eV represents the interests of women migrant organizations and their concerns and advocates equal opportunities, equal participation and the equality of women with a history of migration and refugee experience in Germany. DaMigra follows the approach of anti-racist feminism.

Reports

Umbrella organization

Four years of Hanau: We don’t forget!

Berlin, February 19.02.2024, XNUMX. Exactly four years ago, Gökhan Gültekin, Sedat Gürbüz, Said Nesar Hashemi, Mercedes Kierpacz, Hamza Kurtović, Vili Viorel Păun, Fatih Saraçoğlu, Ferhat Unvar... 

read more

Dates

Brave together

Leipzig, 21. February 2024

Workshop series “Digitally informed”

Dear women, dear volunteers, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the “Together MUTig” project...

read more

Brave together

Erfurt, 27. February 2024

Language café in Erfurt

Dear women, dear active and future volunteers, as part of the Together MUTig project, DaMigra eV at the Erfurt site invites ...

read more

Home > Meldungen > 31 Jahre Mölln – Niemals vergessen! Konsequente Aufarbeitung!

31 Jahre Mölln – Niemals vergessen! Konsequente Aufarbeitung!

Wir fordern Gerechtigkeit für die Angehörigen und Überlebenden rassistischer Gewalt und präventive Arbeit seitens der Politik und Gesellschaft.

Am 23. November 1992 haben Rechtsextremisten zwei Häuser im schleswig-holsteinischen Mölln mit Molotowcocktails beworfen. Grund dafür war rassistischer Hass – im Haus wohnten zwei türkischstämmige Familien. Drei Personen, zwei Mädchen und eine Frau wurden dabei ermordet, weitere neun Personen verletzt. Wir gedenken Yeliz Arslan (10 Jahre alt), Ayse Yilmaz (14 Jahre alt) und Bahide Arslan (52).

Nach dem Anschlag in Mölln wurden die Familien der Ermordeten in Stich gelassen, mussten Jahre lang allein für eine rechtmäßige Entschädigung kämpfen. Die Stadt Mölln hat an die Familie gerichtete Briefe von Menschen aus der ganzen Welt (nicht nur aus Deutschland) mit Hilfsangeboten, Beileids- und Solidaritätsbekundungen, sogar Spenden, nicht an sie weitergeleitet.

Die Familien beklagen bis heute, nicht als entscheidungsberechtigte Ansprechpartner*innen gesehen zu werden, wenn es um die Aufarbeitung des Anschlags geht. Versäumnisse in der Untersuchung des Anschlages, Vorenthaltung von Solidaritätsbekundungen der Mehrheitsgesellschaft durch die Stadt Mölln und bis heute, 31 Jahre später, fehlende konsequente Aufarbeitung des Geschehens. Ein sehr schlechtes Fazit!

Der Anschlag in Mölln war aber nur ein Teil einer rassistischen Gewaltserie im ganzen Land: Mölln, Solingen, Lübeck, Rostock, Hamburg, Dortmund, Kassel, Nürnberg, Heilbronn, München, Halle und Hanau. Heute, 31 Jahre später, erinnern wir uns an den Mordanschlag von Mölln in einem Deutschland, in dem rechte Parteien und Positionen großen Aufwind haben und viele Migrant*innen und BiPoCs Angst um ihre Sicherheit und Zukunft haben. In einem Deutschland, in dem Antisemitismus, antimuslimischer Rassismus und Diskriminierung gesellschaftliche Realität bleiben.

Wir fordern daher sowohl Gerechtigkeit für die Angehörigen und Überlebenden rassistischer Gewalt als auch präventive Arbeit von Politik und Gesellschaft: rassismuskritische politische Bildung, unabhängige Anlaufstellen und Rechtsberatung für Opfer rechter Gewalt sowie mehr Projekte in die Sensibilisierung der Dominanzgesellschaft im Kampf gegen Rassismus. Nur die gesamtgesellschaftliche Anerkennung und Auseinandersetzung mit rechten Kontinuitäten und rassistischen Realitäten in Deutschland kann nachhaltige Veränderungen bewirken“, sagt Dr. Soraya Moket, stellvertretende Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra e.V. und Projektleitung des Antirassismusprojektes women rais.ed.

Die Jahresbilanz der Opferberatungsstellen des Verbands für Beratungsstellen für Betroffene von rechter, rassistischer und antisemitischer Gewalt (VBRG) zeigt, dass diese Gewalt zunimmt. Im Jahr 2022 wurden in zehn von 16 Bundesländern insgesamt 2.093 rechte, rassistisch oder antisemitisch motivierte Angriffe registriert. Jetzt im Oktober 2023, warnen VBRG und RIAS (Recherche- & Informationsstellen Antisemitismus e.V.) vor einer zunehmenden Eskalation. Laut VBRG werden in Deutschland täglich drei bis vier rechts-, rassistisch oder antisemitisch motivierte Gewalttaten verübt.

Erinnern ist zwar wichtig, aber längst nicht genug. Strukturelle Veränderungen, konsequente und kontinuierliche antirassistische Arbeit, rassismuskritische politische Bildung und eine tiefgründige komplexe Analyse rassistischer Kontinuität(en) in Deutschland sind – mehr denn je – dringend notwendig!

DaMigra e.V. ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnenselbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen und setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen mit Migrationsgeschichte und Fluchterfahrung in Deutschland ein. DaMigra verfolgt den Ansatz des Antirassistischen Feminismus.

Meldungen

Dachverband

Vier Jahre Hanau: Wir vergessen nicht!

Berlin, 19.02.2024. Vor genau vier Jahren wurden Gökhan Gültekin, Sedat Gürbüz, Said Nesar Hashemi, Mercedes Kierpacz, Hamza Kurtović, Vili Viorel Păun, Fatih Saraçoğlu, Ferhat Unvar … 

weiterlesen

Termine

Gemeinsam MUTig

Leipzig, 21. Februar 2024

Workshopreihe "Digital informiert"

Liebe Frauen, Liebe Ehrenamtlerinnen, Liebe Interessierte, DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des „Gemeinsam MUTig“ Projekts herzlich zu der ...

weiterlesen

Gemeinsam MUTig

Erfurt, 27. Februar 2024

Sprachcafé in Erfurt

Liebe Frauen, Liebe aktive und zukünftige Ehrenamtlerinnen, im Rahmen des Gemeinsam MUTig-Projekts lädt DaMigra e.V. am Standort Erfurt ...

weiterlesen