Home > Reports > International Sinti * zze and Rom * nja Day - Where is the social awareness?

International Sinti * zze and Rom * nja Day - Where is the social awareness?

Today is International Sinti * zze and Rom * nja Day, and we ask ourselves: How relevant is antiziganism in Germany? Racist prejudices against Sinti * zze and Rom * nja are widespread to this day and members of this minority experience everyday discrimination. But in civil society the issue of antiziganism does not get the attention it deserves, and Sinti * zze and Rom * nja do not get the solidarity that they deserve.

April 08th marks an important day for Sinti * zze and Rom * nja worldwide - in 1971 the first International Roma Congress took place in London on this day. Sinti * zze and Rom * nja have lived on the European continent for at least 600 years, but the members of the diverse and heterogeneous Sinti * zze and Rom * nja communities are still affected by discrimination, persecution, poverty and social exclusion. Even in 2021, access to basic rights such as health, housing, education and work is still not guaranteed. Around 80.000 to 140.000 Sinti * zze and Rom * nja live in Germany, and an estimated 10 to 12 million in the EU - making them the largest ethnic minority in Europe.

The racism against Rom * nja and Sinti * zze is also called antiziganism or antiromaism. However, there are different opinions among those affected as to which terminology fits better, because both are controversial. Romani Rose, the chairman of the Central Council of German Sinti and Roma, explains that the term antiziganism was deliberately enforced against politics and the public. The term describes “the centuries-old tradition of hostility and rejection of the people or groups described by the majority society as“ Gypsies ”as well as the resulting discrimination, exclusion and attacks in many European countries,” said Romani Rose. Thus, antiziganism is the only scientifically sound term that takes into account the construct of the "Z * word" and the violence associated with it. DaMigra considers both terms problematic, but sees it as more relevant to leave the description of racism towards Sinti * zze and Rom * nja to the persons concerned. Regardless of the name or definition - solidarity in the fight against discrimination is the highest priority!

“Society and its institutions have to confront themselves with their racism. The ongoing corona pandemic in particular has shown social inequalities again, because almost half of European Sinti * zze and Rom * nja live in southern or central-eastern European countries and are particularly threatened by the corona virus. At the same time, the minority of people with a Sinti * zze or Rom * nja background were turned into scapegoats in the crisis - repression instead of aid is not the solution, ”said Dr. Delal Atmaca, Managing Director of DaMigra.

But there is also headwind: the Sinti and Roma Youth Conference: Together for Emancipation and Empowerment will take place from April 7th to 9th, 2021. On the occasion of the International Roma Day and the 50th anniversary of the First World Roma Congress, the Council of Europe is organizing an online conference and public event on the topic “The role of history for the participation and inclusion of Sinti and Roma youth”.

In view of the international Sinti * zze and Rom * nja, DaMigra positions itself in solidarity with all Sinzi * zze and Rom * nja and underlines that April 8 will remind us of our social obligation to protect human rights and to promote equality, equality and non-discrimination should.

More information and educational reading on the topic of antiziganism here:
Educational forum against antiziganism
Amaro Foro eV
RomaTrial eV

Press contact: presse@damigra.de Phone: 0178 962 9274

 

DaMigra eV, umbrella organization of migrant women organizations, represents the interests of migrant women organizations and their concerns. With over 70 member organizations nationwide from different countries of origin, the association is available as a contact for politics, business and the media, offers recommendations for action and critical support for migration-political processes. DaMigra eV advocates equal opportunities, equality and equality for women * with refugee and migration backgrounds in Germany.

Reports

Brave together

Migrant womenMarch 2023

About the courage to carry on – a film by DaMigra eV

On March 13.03.2023, XNUMX, we will present a documentary short film in the context of our Germany-wide campaign “Migrant Women March”. Two women with a refugee or migration history share their personal stories by... 

read more

Dates

Brave together

Stralsund, 15 April 2024

Information event “Professional fields at the Helios Hanseklinikum Stralsund”

Dear women, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV invites you to the information event "Professional fields at the Helios Hanseklinikum Stralsund" as part of the KommunalMUTig project...

read more

Brave together

Leipzig, 15 April 2024

Language café in Leipzig

Dear women, dear volunteers, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the language café as part of the “Together MUTig” project...

read more

fb

ig
tw
8. April 2021

Internationaler Sinti*zze und Rom*nja Tag – Wo ist das gesellschaftliche Bewusstsein?

Heute ist Internationaler Sinti*zze und Rom*nja Tag, und wir fragen uns: Wie relevant ist Antiziganismus in Deutschland? Rassistische Vorurteile gegen Sinti*zze und Rom*nja sind bis heute weit verbreitet und Angehörige dieser Minderheit erfahren alltägliche Diskriminierung. Doch in der Zivilgesellschaft bekommt das Thema Antiziganismus nicht die Aufmerksamkeit, die es verdient, und Sinti*zze und Rom*nja nicht die Solidarität, die Ihnen zusteht.

Der 08. April markiert einen wichtigen Tag für Sinti*zze und Rom*nja weltweit – 1971 hat an diesem Tag in London der erste Internationale Roma-Kongress stattgefunden. Sinti*zze und Rom*nja leben seit mindestens 600 Jahren auf dem europäischen Kontinent, doch noch immer sind die Mitglieder der diversen und heterogenen Sinti*zze und Rom*nja Gemeinschaften von Diskriminierung, Verfolgung, Armut und sozialer Ausgrenzung betroffen. Auch im Jahre 2021 ist der Zugang zu Grundrechten wie Gesundheit, Wohnraum, Bildung und Arbeit immer noch nicht sichergestellt. In Deutschland leben ungefähr 80.000 bis 140.000 Sinti*zze und Rom*nja, in der EU sind es schätzungsweise 10 bis 12 Millionen – damit sind sie die größte ethnische Minderheit in Europa.

Der Rassismus gegen Rom*nja und Sinti*zze wird auch Antiziganismus oder Antiromaismus genannt. Jedoch gibt es unter Betroffenen unterschiedliche Meinungen, welche Begrifflichkeit besser passt, denn beide sind umstritten. Romani Rose, der Vorsitzende des Zentralrats Deutscher Sinti und Roma, erläutert dass der Begriff Antiziganismus bewusst gegenüber Politik und Öffentlichkeit durchgesetzt wurde. Der Begriff beschreibe „die jahrhundertealte Tradition von Feindschaft und Ablehnung gegen die von der Mehrheitsgesellschaft als „Zigeuner“ bezeichneten Personen oder Gruppen sowie die daraus folgenden Diskriminierungen, Ausgrenzungen und Angriffe in vielen Ländern Europas“, so Romani Rose. Somit ist Antiziganismus der einzige wissenschaftlich fundierte Begriff, der das Konstrukt des „Z*-Wortes“ und die damit verbundene Gewalt mit bedenkt. DaMigra schätzt beide Begrifflichkeiten problematisch ein, aber sieht es als relevanter an, die Bezeichnung der Rassismen gegenüber Sinti*zze und Rom*nja den betroffenen Personen zu überlassen. Egal welche Bezeichnung oder Definition – die Solidarisierung im Kampf gegen Diskriminierung ist die höchste Priorität!

„Die Gesellschaft und ihre Institutionen müssen sich selbst mit ihren Rassismen konfrontieren. Gerade die anhaltende Corona Pandemie hat gesellschaftliche Ungleichheiten erneut aufgezeigt, denn fast die Hälfte der europäischen Sinti*zze und Rom*nja leben in süd- oder mittelosteuropäischen Staaten und sind besonders vom Coronavirus bedroht. Zeitgleich wurden die Minderheit von Menschen mit Sinti*zze oder Rom*nja Hintergrund zu Sündenbocken in der Krise gemacht – Repression statt Hilfe ist nicht die Lösung“, so Dr. Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra.

Doch es gibt auch Gegenwind: vom 7 bis 9. April 2021 findet die Sinti und Roma Jugendkonferenz: Gemeinsam für Emanzipation und Empowerment statt. Anlässlich des Internationalen Roma-Tages und des 50. Jahrestages des Ersten Welt-Roma-Kongresses führt der Europarat eine online Konferenz und öffentliche Veranstaltung zum Thema „Die Rolle der Geschichte für die Partizipation und Inklusion von Sinti und Roma-Jugendlichen“ durch.

Angesichts des Internationalen Sinti*zze und Rom*nja positioniert sich DaMigra solidarisch mit allen Sinzi*zze und Rom*nja und unterstreicht, dass uns der 8. April an unsere gesellschaftliche Verpflichtung zum Schutz der Menschenrechte und zur Förderung von Gleichberechtigung, Gleichstellung und Nichtdiskriminierung erinnern soll.

Mehr Informationen und Bildungslektüre zu der Thematik Antiziganismus hier:
Bildungsforum gegen Antiziganismus
Amaro Foro e.V.
RomaTrial e.V.

Pressekontakt: presse@damigra.de Telefon: 0178 962 9274

 

DaMigra e.V., Dachverband der Migrantinnenorganisationen ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnenselbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen. Mit bundesweit über 70 Mitgliedsorganisationen aus unterschiedlichen Herkunftsländern steht der Verband als Ansprechpartnerin für Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien zur Verfügung, bietet Handlungsempfehlungen und kritische Begleitung von migrationspolitischen Prozessen. DaMigra e.V. setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, Gleichberechtigung und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen* mit Flucht- und Migrationsgeschichte in Deutschland ein.

22. Juli 2021

FÜNF JAHRE SEIT DEM RASSISTISCHEN ANSCHLAG VON MÜNCHEN Am 22. Juli 2021 jährt sich der rassistische Anschlag am Münchner Olympia-Einkaufszentrum (OEZ) zum fünften …

weiterlesen

14. Juli 2021

Es gibt nicht Frauen und Frauen* – Frauen sind Frauen! “Oppressive language does more than represent violence; it is violence; it does more …

weiterlesen

1. Juli 2021

TAG GEGEN ANTIMUSLIMISCHEN RASSISMUS Am 01. Juli 2009 wurde Marwa El-Sherbini im Dresdner Landgericht ermordet, als sie nach ihrer Zeug*innenaussage das Gebäude verlassen …

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Würselen, 06. August 2021

DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des MUT-Macherinnen*-Projekts und in Kooperation mit Türöffner e.V. herzlich ...

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Stralsund, 06. August 2021

Frauen-Frühstück für Migrantinnen, geflüchtete Frauen und Ehrenamtlerinnen. Wir treffen uns im DaMigra-Büro Stralsund, um ...

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Würselen, 07. August 2021

DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des MUT-Macherinnen*-Projekts und in Kooperation mit Türöffner e.V. herzlich ...

weiterlesen