Home > Reports > No to agitation against Muslims - together and in solidarity we are strong!

No to agitation against Muslims - together and in solidarity we are strong!

DAY AGAINST ANTIMUSLIM RACISM

On July 01, 2009, Marwa El-Sherbini was murdered in the Dresden district court when she wanted to leave the building according to her testimony. The defendant (and murderer convicted afterwards) had insulted her as an “Islamist” and “terrorist” the previous year - because she wore a headscarf. The racist and sexist murder of Marwa El-Sherbini is commemorated on this day. Since then, July 01st has stood as a decisive symbol for a solidary, democratic, anti-racist and open society. From a DaMigra perspective, however, it is not enough to only look at individual forms of discrimination in this case.

Muslims and people who read Muslims have been the target of exclusion, hatred and attacks in Germany for years. Whether it is discrimination when looking for an apartment, hate speech on the Internet, an insulting look in the subway or open violence on the street - that is everyday life for many. Women who read Muslims in particular experience discriminatory agitation, attacks and open hostility. This is particularly evident in the case of Marwa El-Sherbini: she was killed because she is a Muslim. But she was also killed because she is a woman. So her fate is not simply murder - it is a femicide. Femicides are murders in which women are killed for being women.

Migrant women in particular, or those who are read as such, are exposed to multiple levels of discrimination. It would therefore be wrong to classify violence against them exclusively as racist violence, as sexist and misogyne prejudices reinforce it. This multiple discrimination against Muslim women is reflected in another debate: that of the headscarf. Regardless of whether women wear it out of tradition, habit or belief, this has been a symbolic projection surface for various political realities for years. For decades it has been seen and represented by the so-called West as a symbol of the oppression of women in Islam, as an “appendage of men”. On the other hand, it must be clear: there are countless societies and countries that dictate how women should dress, force women to wear a headscarf, and thus limit women’s right to self-determination.

This overlap in discrimination is also evident in the murder of Marwa El-Sherbini 12 years ago. To be a woman, to be a Muslim, to be a pharmacist, to live your elementary human right to self-determination uncompromisingly - this appeared to her murderer as too great a threat to the patriarchal, racist social order. Thus, the femicide of Marwa El-Sherbini must be seen as an act marked by both racism and misogyny.

“This shows the deceptive image of colonialism and racism that still dominates our society today - racisms are changeable. The day against anti-Muslim racism must also show how clearly racist and colonial stereotypes are interwoven with misogyny. Because racisms are adaptable and flexible, the subject of racial discrimination can be exchanged. Often it's all about who fits into the so-called enemy image - and mostly it's a woman. " Delal Atmaca, Managing Director of DaMigra.

All racisms, no matter who they are directed against, divide our society and poison our human coexistence. It is therefore crystal clear: anti-Muslim racism affects us all. But femicides also affect us all. DaMigra has been drawing attention to this for years - more about our work against violence against women here.

More on the topic of femicides: On September 28.09.2021th, XNUMX DaMigra will organize the international hybrid event in cooperation with djb and the representation of the EU Commission in Germany: Istanbul Convention in combatting Femicides: Symbolic policymaking or a protective shield?

More information will follow soon on our homepage.

Press Contact
E-mail: presse@damigra.de┃ Tel .: 030 285 013 36

DaMigra eV represents the interests of migrant women * self-organizations and their concerns and advocates equal opportunities, equal participation and the equality of women * with a migration history and refugee experience in Germany. DaMigra follows the approach of anti-racist feminism.

Reports

Brave together

Migrant womenMarch 2023

About the courage to carry on – a film by DaMigra eV

On March 13.03.2023, XNUMX, we will present a documentary short film in the context of our Germany-wide campaign “Migrant Women March”. Two women with a refugee or migration history share their personal stories by... 

read more

Dates

WOMEN RAIS.ED

Berlin, 19. April 2024 - 20. April 2024

Empowerment and resilience: Empowerment strategies for migrant women FLINTA*

Dear interested parties, we hereby invite you to the empowerment weekend in Berlin. Together with Diana T. Valencia and Helena Mendoza...

read more

MyTurn

Erfurt, 19 April 2024

Creative workshop: New paths, new dreams: My future in Germany

Dear women, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the creative workshop “New ways, new dreams: ...

read more

fb

ig
tw
1. Juli 2021

Nein zu Hetze gegen Muslim*innen – Gemeinsam und solidarisch sind wir stark!

TAG GEGEN ANTIMUSLIMISCHEN RASSISMUS

Am 01. Juli 2009 wurde Marwa El-Sherbini im Dresdner Landgericht ermordet, als sie nach ihrer Zeug*innenaussage das Gebäude verlassen wollte. Der Angeklagte (und danach verurteilte Mörder) hatte sie im Vorjahr als „Islamistin“ und „Terroristin“ beschimpft – weil sie ein Kopftuch trug. Dem rassistischen und sexistischen Mord an Marwa El-Sherbini wird an diesem Tag gedacht. Seitdem steht der 01. Juli als entschiedenes Zeichen für eine solidarische, demokratische, antirassistische und offene Gesellschaft. Aus DaMigra Perspektive reicht es jedoch nicht, in diesem Fall nur auf einzelne Diskriminierungsformen zu schauen.

Muslim*innen und muslimisch gelesene Menschen sind seit Jahren die Zielscheibe von Ausgrenzung, Hass und Übergriffen in Deutschland. Ob Diskriminierung bei der Wohnungssuche, Hetze im Internet, ein beleidigender Blick in der U-Bahn oder offene Gewalt auf der Straße – das ist für viele Alltag. Besonders muslimisch gelesene Frauen erfahren diskriminierende Hetze, Übergriffe und offene Anfeindungen. Das zeigt uns besonders der Fall von Marwa El-Sherbini: sie wurde getötet, weil sie Muslima ist. Sie wurde aber auch getötet, weil sie eine Frau ist. Somit ist ihr Schicksal nicht einfach Mord – es ist ein Femizid. Femizide sind Morde, bei denen Frauen getötet werden, weil sie Frauen sind.

Besonders migrierte Frauen, oder jene, die als solche gelesen werden, sind vielschichtigen Diskriminierungen ausgesetzt. Daher wäre es falsch, Gewalt gegen sie ausschließlich als rassistische Gewalt einzuordnen, da sexistische und misogyne Vorurteile diese verstärken. Diese Mehrfachdiskriminierung für muslimische Frauen zeigt sich in einer weiteren Debatte: der um das Kopftuch. Dieses ist, egal ob Frauen es aus Tradition, Gewohnheit oder Glaube tragen, bereits seit Jahren eine symbolische Projektionsfläche diverser politischer Realitäten. Es wird seit Jahrzehnten durch den sogenannten Westen als Symbol der Unterdrückung der Frau im Islam, als „Anhängsel der Männer“, gesehen und dargestellt. Auf der anderen Seite muss klar sein: es gibt eine Unzahl von Gesellschaften und Länder, die den Frauen vorschreiben, wie sie sich zu kleiden haben, die Frauen zwingen, ein Kopftuch zu tragen, und damit das Selbstbestimmungsrecht der Frau eingrenzen.

Diese Überschneidungen der Diskriminierung zeigen sich auch in dem Mord an Marwa El-Sherbini vor 12 Jahren. Frau zu sein, Muslima zu sein, Pharmazeutin zu sein, ihr elementares Menschenrecht auf Selbstbestimmung kompromisslos zu leben – dies erschien ihrem Mörder als eine zu große Bedrohung für die patriarchale, rassistische Gesellschaftsordnung. Somit muss der Femizid an Marwa El-Sherbini als eine Tat geprägt von sowohl Rassismus als auch Misogynie gesehen werden.

„Hier zeigt sich das trügerische Bild von Kolonialismus und Rassismus, der bis heute unsere Gesellschaft dominiert – Rassismen sind wandelbar. Der Tag gegen Antimuslimischen Rassismus muss aber auch aufweisen, wie klar rassistische und koloniale Stereotype mit Misogynie verwoben sind. Denn Rassismen sind anpassungsfähig und flexibel, das Subjekt rassistischer Diskriminierung kann ausgetauscht werden. Oft geht es nur darum, wer gerade in das sogenannte Feindbild passt – und meistens ist es eine Frau.“, so Dr. Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra.

Alle Rassismen, egal gegen wen sie sich richten, spalten unsere Gesellschaft und vergiften unser menschliches Zusammenleben. Daher ist glasklar: antimuslimischer Rassismus betrifft uns alle. Doch auch Femizide betreffen uns alle. Darauf macht DaMigra seit Jahren aufmerksam – mehr zu unserer Arbeit gegen Gewalt gegen Frauen hier.

Mehr zu dem Thema Femizide: am 28.09.2021 veranstaltet DaMigra in Zusammenarbeit mit djb und der Vertretung der EU-Kommission in Deutschland die internationale Hybridveranstaltung: Istanbul-Konvention im Kampf gegen Femizide: Symbolpolitik oder Schutzschild?

Mehr Informationen folgen baldig auf unserer Homepage.

Pressekontakt
E-Mail: presse@damigra.de┃ Tel.: 030 285 013 36

Pressemeldung hier downloaden.

DaMigra e.V. ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnen*selbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen und setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen* mit Migrationsgeschichte und Fluchterfahrung in Deutschland ein. DaMigra verfolgt den Ansatz des Antirassistischen Feminismus.

22. Juli 2021

FÜNF JAHRE SEIT DEM RASSISTISCHEN ANSCHLAG VON MÜNCHEN Am 22. Juli 2021 jährt sich der rassistische Anschlag am Münchner Olympia-Einkaufszentrum (OEZ) zum fünften …

weiterlesen

14. Juli 2021

Es gibt nicht Frauen und Frauen* – Frauen sind Frauen! “Oppressive language does more than represent violence; it is violence; it does more …

weiterlesen

1. Juli 2021

Bereits Ende März 2021 kündigte die Türkei den Austritt aus der Istanbul-Konvention an – kein überraschender Schritt, aber ein schwerer Rückschlag für den …

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Würselen, 06. August 2021

DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des MUT-Macherinnen*-Projekts und in Kooperation mit Türöffner e.V. herzlich ...

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Stralsund, 06. August 2021

Frauen-Frühstück für Migrantinnen, geflüchtete Frauen und Ehrenamtlerinnen. Wir treffen uns im DaMigra-Büro Stralsund, um ...

weiterlesen

MUT-MACHERINNEN*
Würselen, 07. August 2021

DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des MUT-Macherinnen*-Projekts und in Kooperation mit Türöffner e.V. herzlich ...

weiterlesen