Home > Reports > Refugee Day: Crossing Borders - Who Wins?

Refugee Day: Crossing Borders - Who Wins?

On the National Day of Refugees, the umbrella association of migrant organizations (DaMigra eV) appeals to the observance of human rights. The right to asylum and access to protection must be guaranteed, especially for particularly vulnerable groups. The "EU asylum system" newly developed by the EU Commission does not contribute to this, but turns deportations into a social game through the "return sponsorships" within the EU.

The pictures of the fire in the largest camp for refugees in Europe on the Greek peninsula of Lesbos went around the world. Despair, anger, hunger, and fear are reflected in it. Humanitarian aid seems to be a foreign word. The federal government reacted only sparingly and does not see itself - it seems - responsible to protect human lives in the Mediterranean, nor is attention drawn to the precarious situation of refugees in Germany. A ping-pong game of western industrialized countries - Fortress Europe - which leaves those affected, including countless women * and children, in this inhumane position.

“Compliance with human rights, especially for refugee women *, has not only been threatened since the destructive fire in Moria on the Greek island of Lesbos. Here in the accommodations, too, refugee women * suffer desolate living conditions every day. Without the public noticing, they are exposed to threats, humiliation and assaults - up to and including assassinations, ”explains Lourdes Martínez, DaMigra's board spokeswoman *.

"All they want is to escape the cycle of violence, insecurity and a lack of prospects," emphasizes Dr. Delal Atmaca, Managing Director of DaMigra eV “In shared accommodation, women who have fled * are stigmatized and are not adequately protected against sexual assault. That cannot be accepted like that. Those who watch and remain silent are jointly responsible! ”Continues Atmaca.

So we as civil society have a responsibility. To keep appealing and not stopping. The responsibility lies with those who make politics and pass laws. To be there for everyone and to respect human rights.

DaMigra eV (umbrella association of migrant organizations) represents the interests of migrant self-organizations and their concerns. With over 70 member organizations nationwide from different countries of origin, the association is available as a contact for politics, business and the media, offers recommendations for action and critical support for migration-political processes. DaMigra eV advocates equal opportunities, equality and the equality of women * with a migration history in Germany.

Press Contact: Christelle Nkwendja-Ngnoubamdjum, Public Relations Officer,
Mail: nkwendja@damigra.de, phone: 0159 061 574 95

 

Reports

Brave together

Migrant womenMarch 2023

About the courage to carry on – a film by DaMigra eV

On March 13.03.2023, XNUMX, we will present a documentary short film in the context of our Germany-wide campaign “Migrant Women March”. Two women with a refugee or migration history share their personal stories by... 

read more

Dates

Brave together

Leipzig, 15 April 2024

Language café in Leipzig

Dear women, dear volunteers, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the language café as part of the “Together MUTig” project...

read more

Brave together

Online, 15 April 2024

Online workshop: women and work (series event)

We would like to warmly invite you to our workshop, which is specially designed for refugee women in Bavaria. This ...

read more

fb

ig
tw
2. Oktober 2020

Tag der Geflüchteten: Grenzüberschreitung – wer gewinnt?

Zum Nationalen Tag der Geflüchteten appelliert der Dachverband der Migrantinnen*organisationen (DaMigra e.V.) an die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte. Das Recht auf Asyl und der Zugang zu Schutz muss – insbesondere für besonders vulnerable Gruppen – gesichert sein. Das von der EU-Kommission neu erarbeitete „EU-Asylsystem“ leistet dazu keinen Beitrag, sondern lässt Abschiebungen durch die „Rückführungspatenschaften“ innerhalb der EU zu einem Gesellschaftsspiel werden.

Die Bilder des Feuers im größten Lager für Geflüchtete in Europa auf der griechischen Halbinsel Lesbos gingen um die Welt. Verzweiflung, Wut, Hunger, und Angst spiegeln sich darin. Humanitäre Hilfe scheint ein Fremdwort zu sein. Auch die Bundesregierung reagierte nur spärlich und sieht sich weder – so scheint es – in der Verantwortung Menschenleben am Mittelmeer zu schützen, noch wird auf die prekäre Situation geflüchteter Menschen in Deutschland aufmerksam gemacht. Ein Ping-Pong-Spiel westlicher Industriestaaten – der Festung Europa –, welches die Betroffenen, unter denen zahllose Frauen* und Kinder sind, in dieser inhumanen Lage lässt.

„Die Einhaltung der Menschenrechte insbesondere für geflüchtete Frauen* ist nicht erst seit dem zerstörerischen Feuer in Moria auf der griechischen Insel Lesbos bedroht. Auch hier in den Unterkünften erleiden geflüchtete Frauen* tagtäglich desolate Lebensbedingungen. Sie sind, ohne dass die Öffentlichkeit davon Notiz nimmt, Bedrohungen, Erniedrigungen und tätlichen Übergriffen ausgesetzt – bis hin zu Mordanschlägen.“ erklärt Lourdes Martínez, Vorstandssprecherin* von DaMigra.

„Dabei wollen sie nichts anderes als dem Kreislauf der Gewalt, Unsicherheit und Perspektivlosigkeit zu entkommen“, unterstreicht Dr. Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra e.V. „In Gemeinschaftsunterkünften werden geflüchtete Frauen* stigmatisiert und sind nicht ausreichend vor sexuellen Übergriffen geschützt. Das darf so nicht hingenommen werden. Wer zuschaut und schweigt, ist mitverantwortlich!“ so Atmaca weiter.

In der Verantwortung stehen also wir als Zivilgesellschaft. Immer wieder zu appellieren und nicht aufzuhören. In der Verantwortung stehen die, die Politik machen und Gesetze verabschieden. Für Alle da zu sein und Menschenrechte zu achten.

DaMigra e.V. (Dachverband der Migrantinnen*organisationen) ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnen*selbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen. Mit bundesweit über 70 Mitgliedsorganisationen aus unterschiedlichen Herkunftsländern steht der Verband als Ansprechpartner für Politik, Wirtschaft und Medien zur Verfügung, bietet Handlungsempfehlungen und kritische Begleitung von migrationspolitischen Prozessen. DaMigra e.V. setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, Gleichberechtigung und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen* mit Migrationsgeschichte in Deutschland ein.

Pressekontakt: Christelle Nkwendja-Ngnoubamdjum, Referentin für Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit,
Mail: nkwendja@damigra.de, Phone: 0159 061 574 95

 

hier downloaden.  

15. November 2021

Die Corona-Pandemie sensibilisiert Gesellschaft und Politik nun mittlerweile seit 1,5 Jahren für das Thema Gesundheit und Gesundheitsversorgung. Dass aber besonders Migrierte und Geflüchtete …

weiterlesen

20. Oktober 2021

Berlin, 22.10.2021. Die Gesundheit von vielen Migrantinnen und geflüchteten Frauen in Deutschland steht auf dem Spiel! DaMigra e. V., der Dachverband der Migrantinnenorganisationen …

weiterlesen

8. Oktober 2021

Zwei Jahre seit dem antisemitischen und rechtsradikalen Anschlag von Halle – wir stehen in Solidarität mit allen Betroffenen von rechter Gewalt, Rassismus und …

weiterlesen

WOMEN RAIS.ED
Online, 30. November 2021

Wir laden Euch herzlich zum Infocafé von DaMigras neuem Projekt women rais.ed – erkennen, ...

weiterlesen