Home > Reports > Wake up call: Diversity is not a marketing strategy!

Wake up call: Diversity is not a marketing strategy!

We need more Aylas and Giorginas instead of Thomasse and Karls in our state parliaments!

After starting the SuperwThe Greens in Baden-Württemberg and the SPD in Rhineland-Palatinate celebrate their successes. We would also be celebrating if we were better represented in the new state parliaments! Yet diversity is difficult to find among the 75% male MPs. The stereotype of the old white man is seldom as true as in German state parliaments.

14 of 154 MPs with a migration background in Baden-Württemberg

“People with foreign roots contribute to the economic and social enrichment of a cosmopolitan and internationally oriented Baden-Württemberg”According to the country's integration report from last year.

But that sounds more than cynical! How should 14 out of 154 MPs - which corresponds to a share of 9,1% - represent 33,8% of the population? The numbers and ratios have long been clear - people with a history of migration make up over a quarter of society and women * half. But even after more than 100 years of women's voting rights, white men dominate our parliaments and are reluctant to move from their seats.

But it can be even more absurd:

2 out of 101 MPs with a migration background in Rhineland-Palatinate

The Rhineland Palatinate Ministry for Family, Women, Youth, Integration and Consumer Protection also promotes cosmopolitanism and participation on its website:

“We are convinced that cultural diversity enriches our coexistence, our everyday life, our society and our economy. That is why we are happy when migrants contribute their knowledge and skills, their culture and their skills. "

But how 27% of the population with a migration background can participate in the state parliament in political decisions through 2 members of parliament - who make up less than 2% - is and remains questionable! In the last 15 years, the state has just managed to increase its share of MPs with a migration history from 0% to less than 2%. The proportion of women * has even decreased with this election and there are only 34 women * in the state parliament.

So how can it be that in 2021 we see ourselves on the one hand as an immigration society in which democratic rights such as equality have a high priority, and on the other hand still fail because of the diversity of our society in the state parliaments and to map the decisive bodies?

The cards have to be reshuffled! If parliaments or councils do not represent the diversity of the population, it means an imbalance, as is reflected, among other things, in the gender and diversity gap. Our parliaments must have equal and diverse staff so that as many votes as possible are represented.

How can we explain the discrepancy between the composition of our parliaments and the values ​​of our Basic Law? Freedom and equality are among the basic concepts of our modern understanding of democracy and are fixed in the Basic Law in this country. They belong to the basic and human rights and should actually be out of the question. But the reality looks different. Some are freer and more equal than others!

To change this, we ask for a parity law that the actual diversity of society and strengthens our democracy and cohesion in our diverse immigration society!

Because a democracy can only be strong if the voices and interests of ALL people living here are heard and they see themselves represented.

Therefore we need a parity law that follows intersectional feminist and anti-racist values. Religion, level of education, gender identity, sexual orientation, physical ability, social milieu and much more must be viewed in their simultaneity, as required by our Basic Law, Article 3 Paragraphs 2 and 3.

Only if everyone has a say can representation of interests and opinion as an integral part of democracies be guaranteed.

We also need the readiness of Thomasse, Karls and all the other men who have been blocking our parliaments for decades -
To make way for more diversity in politics!

The umbrella association of migrant organizations - DaMigra eV

DaMigra eV represents the interests of migrant women * self-organizations and their concerns and advocates equal opportunities, equal participation and the equality of women * with a migration history and refugee experience in Germany. DaMigra follows the approach of anti-racist feminism.

Contact: presse@damigra.de

Download wake-up call here.

 

Reports

Brave together

Migrant womenMarch 2023

About the courage to carry on – a film by DaMigra eV

On March 13.03.2023, XNUMX, we will present a documentary short film in the context of our Germany-wide campaign “Migrant Women March”. Two women with a refugee or migration history share their personal stories by... 

read more

Dates

WOMEN RAIS.ED

Berlin, 19. April 2024 - 20. April 2024

Empowerment and resilience: Empowerment strategies for migrant women FLINTA*

Dear interested parties, we hereby invite you to the empowerment weekend in Berlin. Together with Diana T. Valencia and Helena Mendoza...

read more

MyTurn

Erfurt, 19 April 2024

Creative workshop: New paths, new dreams: My future in Germany

Dear women, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the creative workshop “New ways, new dreams: ...

read more

fb

ig
tw
19. März 2021

Weckruf: Diversity ist keine Marketingstrategie!

Wir brauchen mehr Aylas und Giorginas, statt Thomasse und Karls in unseren Landtagen!

Nach dem Start ins Superwahljahr feiern die Grünen in Baden-Württemberg und die SPD in Rheinland-Pfalz ihre Erfolge. Wir würden auch feiern, wären wir denn stärker repräsentiert in den neuen Landtagen! Doch Diversität ist unter den immer noch zu 75% aus Männern bestehenden Abgeordneten schwer zu finden. Selten trifft das Stereotyp des alten weißen Mannes so gut zu wie in deutschen Landesparlamenten.

14 von 154 Abgeordneten mit Migrationshintergrund in Baden-Württemberg

“Menschen mit ausländischen Wurzeln tragen zur wirtschaftlichen und gesellschaftlichen Bereicherung eines weltoffenen und international ausgerichteten Baden-Württembergs bei“, heißt es im Integrationsbericht des Landes aus dem letzten Jahr.

Das klingt jedoch mehr als zynisch! Wie sollen gerade einmal 14 von 154 Abgeordneten – was einem Anteil von 9,1% entspricht – 33,8% der Bevölkerung repräsentieren? Die Zahlen und Verhältnisse sind schon lange klar– Menschen mit Migrationsgeschichte machen über ein Viertel der Gesellschaft aus und Frauen* die Hälfte. Doch auch nach über 100 Jahren Frauen*wahlrecht dominieren weiße Männer unsere Parlamente und rücken nur sehr widerwillig von ihren Plätzen.

Aber es geht noch absurder:

2 von 101 Abgeordneten mit Migrationshintergrund in Rheinland-Pfalz

Für Weltoffenheit und Teilhabe wirbt auch das rheinlandpfälzische Ministerium für Familie, Frauen, Jugend, Integration und Verbraucherschutz auf ihrer Webseite:

„Wir sind überzeugt, dass kulturelle Vielfalt unser Zusammenleben, unseren Alltag, unsere Gesellschaft und unsere Wirtschaft bereichert. Deshalb freuen wir uns, wenn Migrantinnen und Migranten ihr Wissen und Können, ihre Kultur und ihre Fähigkeiten einbringen.“

Wie nun aber 27% der Bevölkerung, die einen Migrationshintergrund haben, durch 2 Abgeordnete- die unter 2% ausmachen- im Landtag an politischen Entscheidungen des Landes mitwirken können, ist und bleibt fragwürdig! Innerhalb der letzten 15 Jahren hat es das Bundesland also gerade einmal geschafft ihren Anteil an Abgeordneten mit Migrationsgeschichte von 0% auf nicht einmal 2% zu erhöhen. Der Frauen*anteil ist mit dieser Wahl sogar noch gesunken und es befinden sich nur noch 34 Frauen* im Landesparlament.

Wie kann es also sein, dass wir uns im Jahr 2021 auf der einen Seite als Einwanderungsgesellschaft begreifen, in dem demokratische Rechte, wie Gleichberechtigung einen hohen Stellenwert haben, und auf der anderen Seite immer noch daran scheitern, die Diversität unserer Gesellschaft in den Landesparlamenten und entscheidenden Gremien abzubilden?

Die Karten müssen neu gemischt werden! Wenn Parlamente oder Räte die Vielfalt der Bevölkerung nicht repräsentieren, bedeutet es eine Schieflage, wie u. a. im Gender- und Diversity-Gap widergespiegelt wird.  Unsere Parlamente müssen paritätisch und divers besetzt werden, damit möglichst alle Stimmen vertreten sind.

Wie können wir die Diskrepanz zwischen der Zusammensetzung unserer Parlamente sowie den Werten unseres Grundgesetzes erklären? Freiheit und Gleichheit gehören zu den Grundbegriffen unseres modernen Demokratieverständnisses und sind hierzulande im Grundgesetz fixiert. Sie gehören zu den Grund- und Menschenrechten und sollten eigentlich indiskutabel sein. Die Realität sieht jedoch anders aus. Manche sind freier und gleicher als andere!

Um dies zu verändern, fordern wir ein Paritätsgesetz, dass die tatsächliche Diversität der Gesellschaft widerspiegelt und unsere Demokratie und den Zusammenhalt in unser vielfältigen Einwanderungsgesellschaft stärkt!

Denn eine Demokratie kann nur dann stark sein, wenn die Stimmen und Interessen ALLER hier lebenden Menschen Gehör finden und sie sich repräsentiert sehen.

Daher brauchen wir ein Paritätsgesetz, dass intersektional-feministischen, als auch anti-rassistischen Werten folgt. Religion, Bildungsstand, Geschlechtsidentität, sexuelle Orientierung, körperliche Befähigung, soziales Milieu und vieles mehr müssen in ihrer Gleichzeitigkeit betrachtet werden, so wie es unser Grundgesetz Artikel 3 Absatz 2 und 3 einfordert.

Nur durch die Mitbestimmung aller können Interessenvertretung und Meinungsbild als integraler Bestandteil von Demokratien gewährleistet werden.

Außerdem brauchen wir die Bereitschaft der Thomasse, Karls und aller anderen Männer, die seit Jahrzehnten unsere Parlamente blockieren –
Platz zu machen für mehr Vielfalt in der Politik!

Der Dachverband der Migrantinnen*organisationen – DaMigra e.V.

DaMigra e.V. ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnen*selbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen und setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen* mit Migrationsgeschichte und Fluchterfahrung in Deutschland ein. DaMigra verfolgt den Ansatz des Antirassistischen Feminismus.

Kontakt: presse@damigra.de

Weckruf hier downloaden.

 

15. November 2021

Die Corona-Pandemie sensibilisiert Gesellschaft und Politik nun mittlerweile seit 1,5 Jahren für das Thema Gesundheit und Gesundheitsversorgung. Dass aber besonders Migrierte und Geflüchtete …

weiterlesen

20. Oktober 2021

Berlin, 22.10.2021. Die Gesundheit von vielen Migrantinnen und geflüchteten Frauen in Deutschland steht auf dem Spiel! DaMigra e. V., der Dachverband der Migrantinnenorganisationen …

weiterlesen

8. Oktober 2021

Zwei Jahre seit dem antisemitischen und rechtsradikalen Anschlag von Halle – wir stehen in Solidarität mit allen Betroffenen von rechter Gewalt, Rassismus und …

weiterlesen

WOMEN RAIS.ED
Online, 30. November 2021

Wir laden Euch herzlich zum Infocafé von DaMigras neuem Projekt women rais.ed – erkennen, ...

weiterlesen