Home > Reports > On the International Day against Violence against Women: DaMigra calls for greater protection and security for women in war and conflict areas!

On the International Day against Violence against Women: DaMigra calls for greater protection and security for women in war and conflict areas!

Armed conflicts and instability are always associated with an increase in various forms of violence. Many of these forms of violence affect women and girls exclusively or in a special way.

Berlin, November 25.11.2023, 25. One of the most common human rights violations is violence against women and girls. On November XNUMXth, the United Nations will do so International Day for the Elimination of Violence Against Women attention worldwide to this problem.

Gender-specific, especially sexual violence, in wars and conflicts has existed as long as there have been wars and conflicts. However, the figures on sexualized war violence are generally difficult to estimate because many of those affected keep quiet about their experiences, but also because many forms of sexualized war violence are not documented or recorded. It can therefore be assumed that the number of unreported cases is high. Whether in Iran, Afghanistan, Yemen, Sudan or Ukraine - even if the backgrounds of these wars and conflicts are not comparable, one thing remains the same. This is the increase in gender-based violence that accompanies war and conflict situations. For example, through research by the United Nations and the UN High Commissioner for Human Rights, there is increasing evidence that conflict-related sexual violence is being used as a weapon of war in Russia's war of aggression against Ukraine. In addition, human rights organizations have been drawing attention to the role of sexual violence in Sudan and Yemen for years.

Even in post-war times, characterized by instability and uncertainty, the climate of violence continues for a long time. In post-conflict countries there is often an increased social acceptance of violence, particularly a high level of acceptance of gender-specific violence against women and girls. In this context, DaMigra eV expressly supports the draft law for the further development of international criminal law passed by the federal government in November 2023, which, among other things, stipulates that in the future any form of sexual violence in conflict areas should be prosecuted as war crimes and crimes against humanity in Germany.

“This draft law is a clear signal of protection against sexual violence. But what is important now is that this proposed law is implemented in practice with every effort in cooperation with feminist civil society and those affected's representatives!", said Dr. Delal Atmaca, managing director of DaMigra eV.

Women and girls are often only perceived as those affected by conflicts and wars. This is precisely why we need consistent implementation of UN Resolution 1325 Women, Peace and Security worldwide. This resolution increasingly includes women in peace processes and recognizes them as relevant social actors in reconstruction and in preventing new conflicts. Women in war and conflict areas are indeed affected, but they are also peacemakers, survivors, fighters and peacemakers - as diverse as they are, their support should be as diverse.

DaMigra eV represents the interests of women migrant organizations and their concerns and advocates equal opportunities, equal participation and the equality of women with a history of migration and refugee experience in Germany. DaMigra follows the approach of anti-racist feminism.

Reports

Four years of Hanau: We don’t forget!

Berlin, February 19.02.2024, XNUMX. Exactly four years ago, Gökhan Gültekin, Sedat Gürbüz, Said Nesar Hashemi, Mercedes Kierpacz, Hamza Kurtović, Vili Viorel Păun, Fatih Saraçoğlu, Ferhat Unvar... 

read more

Dates

Brave together

Erfurt, 20. February 2024

Language café in Erfurt

Dear women, dear active and future volunteers, as part of the Together MUTig project, DaMigra eV at the Erfurt site invites ...

read more

Brave together

Leipzig, 21. February 2024

Workshop series “Digitally informed”

Dear women, dear volunteers, dear interested parties, DaMigra eV cordially invites you to the “Together MUTig” project...

read more

Home > Meldungen > Zum Internationalen Tag gegen Gewalt an Frauen: DaMigra fordert stärkeren Schutz & Sicherheit für Frauen in Kriegs- und Konfliktgebieten!

Zum Internationalen Tag gegen Gewalt an Frauen: DaMigra fordert stärkeren Schutz & Sicherheit für Frauen in Kriegs- und Konfliktgebieten!

Bewaffnete Konflikte und Instabilität sind auch immer mit einem Anstieg an verschiedensten Formen von Gewalt verbunden. Viele dieser Gewaltformen betreffen Frauen und Mädchen ausschließlich oder in besonderer Weise.

Berlin, 25.11.2023. Eine der häufigsten Menschenrechtsverletzungen ist Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen. Am 25. November machen die Vereinten Nationen mit dem Internationalen Tag zur Beseitigung von Gewalt gegen Frauen weltweit auf diesen Missstand aufmerksam.

Geschlechtsspezifische, insbesondere sexualisierte Gewalt, in Kriegen und Konflikten gibt es, seitdem es Kriege und Konflikte gibt. Doch die Zahlen zu sexualisierter Kriegsgewalt lassen sich generell schwer einschätzen, da viele Betroffene das Erlebte verschweigen, aber auch, weil viele Formen sexualisierter Kriegsgewalt nicht dokumentiert oder erfasst werden. Somit ist von einer hohen Dunkelziffer auszugehen. Ob im Iran, in Afghanistan, im Jemen, im Sudan oder in der Ukraine– auch wenn die Hintergründe dieser Kriege und Konflikte nicht vergleichbar sind, eins bleibt gleich. Das ist der Anstieg an geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt, der Kriegs- und Konfliktsituationen begleitet. Beispielsweise gibt es durch Recherchen der Vereinten Nationen und des UN-Hochkommissars für Menschenrechte vermehrt Hinweise, dass konfliktbedingte sexualisierte Gewalt im russischen Angriffskrieg auf die Ukraine als Kriegswaffe eingesetzt wird. Zudem machen Menschenrechtsorganisationen seit Jahren auf die Rolle sexualisierte Gewalt im Sudan und im Jemen aufmerksam.

Auch in Nachkriegszeiten, geprägt von Instabilität und Unsicherheit, hält das Klima von Gewalt noch lange an. Oft herrscht in postkonfliktgeprägten Ländern eine gestiegene gesellschaftliche Akzeptanz von Gewalt, insbesondere auch im hohen Maß eine Akzeptanz geschlechtsspezifischer Gewalt gegen Frauen und Mädchen. In diesem Zusammenhang unterstützt DaMigra e.V. ausdrücklich den im November 2023 von der Bundesregierung beschlossenen Gesetzesentwurf zur Fortentwicklung des Völkerstrafrechts, welcher unter anderem vorsieht, dass künftig jedwede Form sexualisierter Gewalt in Konfliktgebieten als Kriegsverbrechen und Verbrechen gegen die Menschlichkeit in Deutschland strafrechtlich verfolgt werden soll.

„Dieser Gesetzesentwurf ist ein deutliches Zeichen zum Schutz vor sexualisierter Gewalt. Doch worauf es jetzt ankommt, ist, dass dieses Gesetzesvorhaben in Zusammenarbeit mit der feministischen Zivilgesellschaft und Betroffenenvertretungen mit allen Anstrengungen praktisch umgesetzt wird!“, so Dr. Delal Atmaca, Geschäftsführerin von DaMigra e.V..

Häufig werden Frauen und Mädchen nur als Betroffene von Konflikten und Kriegen wahrgenommen. Gerade deshalb brauchen wir weltweit eine konsequente Umsetzung der UN-Resolution 1325 Frauen, Frieden Sicherheit. Diese Resolution bezieht gerade Frauen in Friedensprozessen verstärkt ein und erkennt sie als relevante gesellschaftliche Akteurinnen beim Wiederaufbau und bei der Vermeidung neuer Konflikte. Frauen in Kriegs- und Konfliktgebieten sind zwar Betroffene, aber sie sind auch die Friedenschaffenden, sind Überlebende, Kämpferinnen und Friedensstifterinnen – so vielfältig sie sind, so vielfältig sollte ihre Unterstützung sein.

DaMigra e.V. ist die Interessenvertretung von Migrantinnenselbstorganisationen und ihren Belangen und setzt sich für Chancengerechtigkeit, gleichberechtigte Teilhabe und für die Gleichstellung von Frauen mit Migrationsgeschichte und Fluchterfahrung in Deutschland ein. DaMigra verfolgt den Ansatz des Antirassistischen Feminismus.

Meldungen

Dachverband

Vier Jahre Hanau: Wir vergessen nicht!

Berlin, 19.02.2024. Vor genau vier Jahren wurden Gökhan Gültekin, Sedat Gürbüz, Said Nesar Hashemi, Mercedes Kierpacz, Hamza Kurtović, Vili Viorel Păun, Fatih Saraçoğlu, Ferhat Unvar … 

weiterlesen

Termine

Gemeinsam MUTig

Leipzig, 21. Februar 2024

Workshopreihe "Digital informiert"

Liebe Frauen, Liebe Ehrenamtlerinnen, Liebe Interessierte, DaMigra e.V. lädt im Rahmen des „Gemeinsam MUTig“ Projekts herzlich zu der ...

weiterlesen

Gemeinsam MUTig

Erfurt, 27. Februar 2024

Sprachcafé in Erfurt

Liebe Frauen, Liebe aktive und zukünftige Ehrenamtlerinnen, im Rahmen des Gemeinsam MUTig-Projekts lädt DaMigra e.V. am Standort Erfurt ...

weiterlesen